“It happened in less than a second. Maybe half a second, but it changed everything.”

They were walking together, hand in hand. She was the girl I had loved for the past four years. He, was my best friend.

I don’t know what happened to me that day, I can’t describe the feeling. Something similar to what Diana Gabaldon mentioned in her novel, ‘Dragonfly in Amber’ happened to me I think; “I stood still, vision blurring, and in that moment, I heard my heart break. It was a small, clean sound, like the snapping of a flower’s stem. “

We’ve all gone through heartbreaks. At our age, this is fairly common. How many times have you fallen for someone who you’re aware will never love you back, but still gave him/her all your heart? You might be bestfriends, may share every single thing with each other, but somehow that person never seems to see you in that light.

We live in the age of romantic movies, of novels which sell millions of copies if and only if they have the ability to shred our hearts to pieces with the notion of true love; and why not?
It’s heart-warming to think that there really is that one person who will some day, inevitably come and fill the void in our hearts; our better half, our compliment. There is always some hope.
Though it might have been painful to bear the fact that the one you love rejected you, it’s necessary to know that somewhere down the road you will meet someone more magical, and more deserving.

The key is to finding the love within ourselves. Many people give up after having their hearts broken once. Even if you have been hurt before, even if you feel the pain in your heart, even if your heart goes numb when you see the one you love with someone else, you must try to love like no one ever hurt you; like as if you’ve never been torn apart. The road to contentment and finding true love will always be laden with pain, disappointments, discouragements and disrepair, but when we find that special someone, who will be by our side no matter what, all such obstacles will fade away, magically.

With these thoughts in my mind, I walked away, plugging my earphones and humming the tune of Adele’s ‘Someone like you’.

“Nevermind, I’ll find someone like you.
I wish nothing but the best for you, too”.

One thought on ““It happened in less than a second. Maybe half a second, but it changed everything.”

Leave a Reply

