The Greatest Love of My Life

24th December 2012.

Dear Diary,

She is my first and the only love till this point and  is undoubtedly the most beautiful person on earth.

It’s been 18 years since we met each other and a strong bond has grown between us through these years. I knew it was love at first sight, that she loved me too. In fact, I hadn’t spoken a word with her till about a year since I had seen her for the first time. It was in one long journey in a plane, from Mumbai to Chicago, back in 1997 that I understood her love for me.  We had passed the Arabian Sea and it was 3 am in the morning; I thought I was the only one who was awake at that early hour. But to my surprise, she was awake too. I soon realized that she had been awake all night for me.
Hardly had she seemed to move her sight away from me. She smiled at me very often and every time I encountered that cute smile,
I started eagerly awaiting the next battle with her shining eyes. Her smile had everything in it, the story of unbelievable affection, care and what not.

From that moment, till now, I too have loved her to a great extent. We have never exchanged words about the love we have towards each other, but words are too less to reflect the amount of affection and love we share. Words can’t express it all. She has done a lot for me, without ever expecting anything in return.

Be it teaching or scolding, hugging or smothering; my mother has always enjoyed a special yet mystical space in my life. And though I wish that someday I’d be able to write a few verses on her, for now, I’d like to dedicate this wonderful poem written by Pat O’Reilly to her:

God made a wonderful mother,
A mother who never grows old;
He made her smile of the sunshine,
And He molded her heart of pure gold;
In her eyes He placed bright shining stars,
In her cheeks fair roses you see;
God made a wonderful mother,
And He gave that dear mother to me.

 
P.S – Happy birthday, Aai. I love you.

 
Leave a Reply

