The Fear of Failure.

Recently I was posed with a rather curious question – ‘Do you fear failure?’.

‘Yes’, I replied.

Counter question – ‘Do you intend to overcome it?’.

I responded with a firm, ‘No’.

Since I was a child, I’ve always feared failure. And mind you, I don’t mean the ‘brooding-and-crying-in-a-corner-if-I-fail’ type of fear, but the ‘I-need-to-give-my-best-shot-at-this’ type. I fear not reaching up to what I aim for. Of not achieving the goals I set for myself. I find it helpful, ‘cause the fact that I’m scared of not succeeding motivates me to try harder, and do better.

If I do my best to achieve what I aim for and end up not achieving it, I’ll have no regrets; because that shows that it’s just not meant to be. But on the other hand, I don’t want to ever feel that I could have tried harder. That I could have achieved what I wanted to had I given it my best shot.

In short, my fear of failure helps me to give my best at everything.

What I’m trying to put across is similar to what Bruce Wayne was told by the blind prisoner after his two futile attempts to escape Bane’s prison in the movie, ‘The Dark Knight Rises’; ‘How can you move faster than possible, fight longer than possible without the most powerful impulse of the spirit: the fear of death.’ Though this quote talks about the fear of death, it can easily be accommodated in this context, as the same can be said about failure.

Fear can actually be a great motivator. Someone who is scared of ending up in a petty house might try harder to secure a good education and a better roof. A person who is scared of developing some health related problems may work tirelessly to maintain optimum health conditions. Fear, to some extent can be a catalyst towards reaching one’s goals.

In the end, I’d like to emphasize that, to succeed we have to fail and learn from it. This is the true secret of failure. It is there to teach you that something you are doing is inadequate. What you have to do is to adjust and compose your actions until you get the results you desire.
The sooner you embrace failure and the lessons it has to teach you, the sooner you will attain success.

And so Yes, I fear failure. It’s my incentive to succeed.

Leave a Reply

