A New Beginning.

The following article is dedicated to my high-school batch-mates: Indian School Muscat, Class of 2013.

 

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.” ― Lao Tzu.

 

For the past month or so, I’ve been suffering from a huge writer’s block. You know that time when either you’re completely out of ideas or a way of transforming those ideas into words. But today, as I was staring at my blog and feeling hopeless for not being able to think of any topic for my new post, I decided to let it go and (grabbing my iPod) I went for a walk.

Though my mood was troubling me, my mind was wandering along the tunes of the songs playing on my iPod. I had just strolled through the Boulevard of Broken Dreams, and I was about to fast forward the romance that Lady Antebellum was having with my ears, when Graduation by Vitamin C started playing. It hadn’t even reached past its first chorus, when I was already battling my emotions. My eyes had become red, yet, for some reason, the tears just weren’t coming.

The melancholy breeze and the fast pace of the song made me realize that time is literally suffocating all of us, and that the golden period of our school life has drawn to a close.

Yes, things haven’t always been easy for us – we have all gone through heartbreaks and failures. But, as J.K Rowling said in her commencement speech at the Annual Meeting of the Harvard Alumni Association in 2008, – “Some failure in life is inevitable. It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all. In which case, you fail by default.” Every single thing that has happened in these past years, may that be good or bad, has molded us to what we are today, and what we will be tomorrow. And that’s the best thing about it.

Right now we are sitting on the runway of life, trying to prepare for takeoff. And at this point, I can’t think of anything else but how this whole journey started. Even today, I still recall how tensed I was when I first entered the gates of Indian School Muscat (ISM). I was intimidated by just looking at the huge stone structure and the thoughts of being away from home. But little did the small me realize that this same institution would prove to be one of the sole reasons of my existence – the backbone to my skeleton, the icing to my cake, the key to my lock and the heart to my love.

In a few days (or months), we are all going to go to different universities. We are all going to be far away.

Will university life be the same as school life? No. Will our university professors be anything like our high-school teachers? I don’t know. Will life be easier? Obviously not. Am I nervous? Hell yes.

What does tomorrow hold for us, I know not, but what I do know is that we will manage like we all have till now.

We have all promised to keep in touch, but somewhere down inside each one of us knows that it’s going to be very hard. Our academic obligations and the fact that we’ll all be in different parts of the world won’t let us stay tuned with each other’s lives, but there’s no harm in hoping, is there? As they say, ‘it’s the thought that matters’.

As I said before, I’m nervous. We all are. University life is going to be a new beginning. Right from making new friends to getting accustomed to a whole new place. It’s going to be out of our comfort zone – far from friends and family. But that’s just how life is, right? Life is like a cycle – first it gives us something new and expects us to get used to it, and when we finally do get used to it, it snatches that thing from us and gives us something entirely new. And then the process repeats itself.

It’s insane. It’s life.

But is change bad? It need not be. Sometimes change is necessary.

Do you guys remember the three stages of a butterfly’s life? First it’s an ugly caterpillar – scaring young girls and feeding on poor leaves. Then it cocoons itself into a larvae and enjoys some solitude and eats, eats a lot. Finally, it transforms into a butterfly – beautiful and colourful; giving joy to everybody who lays eyes on it.

Our lives are similar. For all we know, university might be the stage where we need to cocoon ourselves (with our books) and await our transformation into a butterfly. Think about it!

With this in mind, I switched off my iPod, realizing that, no matter how nervous I am about university life, I think I’m ready for the change. Because sometimes distance is necessary. Sometimes you need to be away to know who cares enough to keep in touch.

 

8 thoughts on “A New Beginning.

Leave a Reply

